My Thoughts February 6th 2017

Evening Friends,

So today I sat in my car listening to NPR reporting on the legal battle that the Travel Ban is facing. On one hand I am hopeful that the Judicial system will side on behalf of the Constitution, Business leaders, and the american people, by not allowing this ban to be reinstated. On the other hand I am a realist and know that the courts have in recent history gone against the constitution and the American people. So I guess we will just have to wait and see what the results will be of this ridiculous ban.

So what’s on my mind tonight? As a child I was raised by parents who told me to go to school, get good grades, go to college, get a good job. I was not the happiest of students, in fact I hated school and so in my senior year, I dropped out. I did get my GED quickly afterwards, but I can admit now that dropping out was not a good decision. I spent 10 years working jobs for little pay and struggled greatly. The entire time I did this, I had people saying, if you don’t like your job, go back to school, get an education and do something about it. These were conservative friends, who enjoy the ideology that if you are not rich, then you are either lazy, dumb, or some immigrant has swooped in and taken your job; living the high life flipping burgers for minimum wage or below.

Anyway, so point being I had all these people telling me to take control of my life and so I did. I went back to school, two years at a community college, and then two years at a Private College. In the end I left with a bachelors degree in both Business and Accounting. I also ended up with the title of, “EDUCATED ELITIST!!!!!” These same people who had said the only reason I was poor was because I was lazy or dumb, we now calling me smug and condescending.

I’m really not sure why, but the biggest threat to the Republican party is an intelligent voter. First off, I am not saying you have to go to college to be an intelligent voter. What I am saying is a college degree is like republican repellant. Why this is the case is simple. When a republican talks about the economy, they aren’t trying to talk to economists, they are trying to appeal to the emotions of folks who are currently hurting economically. When someone who has taken economics courses comes into play, and points out that we have used trickle down theory at least three times in the last 30 years, each with their own economic crashes, they are no longer able to appeal to your emotions and find it far easier to label you as an elitist.

Humorously so, I was ashamed of my education for a short time period. People who used to talk to me in depth about various topics were now simply using ad hominem attacks against me, in an effort to nullify any argument I might make.  Since going back to school I have gone from a well respected, Libertarian , admin of a successful Facebook group, having nearly a thousand friends, to someone with barely 100 friends, most of which don’t even interact with me any longer. Sooooooo……Fuck em… I am proud of the education I received and I am proud to be the type of person willing to change my beliefs when faced with facts that contradict those beliefs. It is better to be on the right side of history and hated, than to be on the wrong side and well respected.

Once again, I am not insulting those who do not have a college education. I know many people who have a better hard knock education that college educated students. In fact, as a white college educated man, I am somewhat in the minority when it comes to the Anti-Trump crowd. It isn’t truly about what you read, as it is about what you retain.

Whether you believe God or Nature gave us our reasoning ability, it is our right and duty to use it.

Goodnight and Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

