The Manly Feminist

So obviously today I didn’t plan on talking about Donald Junkie Trump, but today we won! In a 3-0 victory in the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals, the travel ban was struck a heavy blow, it will not be reinstated without the will of the Supreme Court of the United States. The decision was 2 liberal judges and one Conservative. So it is not a partisan issue and I have no doubt the Supreme court will agree with the lower courts ruling.

Anyway, with that said, what is on my mind today.  I’m a feminist, and I basically have been one since a very young age. I didn’t always do a good job of showing it, as there is a ton of pressure on men, to act a certain way, and to be a certain type of person. However, let me describe to you my first feminist experience.

Folks that know me, will understand that I have a Liberal grandmother. In a sea of conservative family members, she is the only liberal. So one hot summer day, when I was around 6 yrs old, my brother, my cousin and I were all running around and playing. My brother and I took our shirts off and were running around topless. My cousin, a girl, asked if she could take her shirt off, she was 5 or 6. I immediately said, No, you’re a girl, girls can’t take off their clothes…To which my grandmother made me put my shirt back on. A few moments later I asked if I could take my shirt back off, because it was very hot and my grandmother said I only could if my cousin could as well. My 6 yr old mind could only come up with one retort, “But she’s a girl?!?!” My grandmother then explained to me that I was being mean and that I was saying because she was a girl that she was less than me or my brother. I loved my cousin and when it was put that way, I consented and said it was ok. We continued playing until our conservative parents arrived and after they all had heart attacks, we all went home.

It’s a silly story but one that has stuck with me. Now obviously their are differences between the sexes but there is so much more that is the same. We all want respect, we all have reason, and none of us want to be treated like an object or something less than a full human being. So today I proudly call myself a feminist and strangely enough it makes me feel like more of a man than when I denied the term. There is a sort of strength that comes from realizing our true equality and I do not feel like less than a man because I have to share a world with strong females.

Anyway, I was always horrible at catcalling….

Other men: Look at her, I’d like to take that for a drive.
Me: Look at those glasses, I bet she reads a lot…

Ok that’s a joke which is based on a true story but one that I will save for a later date.

Goodnight and Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

