A Boy and A Girl (Part 1 of 3)

So tonight I was encouraged to write about how I met the love of my life. We are both unconventional people and so it only makes sense that our love has been unconventional. This is a story of how a boy met a girl, loved a girl, lost the girl, and then won the girls heart again.

It all started in the desolate landscape of the information super highway in 2001. That’s what we called it back then…2001….so silly were we… Anyway, I have never been good socially in a face to face situation and at that time, my only real social experience was talking to folks on Yahoo chatrooms. I would spend hours talking to people from various parts of the country about an endless number of topics. Chatrooms were great because they were very specific in nature, so if you liked talking about specific topics, as I do for the most part, chatrooms were a great avenue.

One night, I was up late in one of the rooms and I noticed this profile that was typing in some of the funniest things I had ever seen. Not only that but this was a girl who was writing these things and I instantly had to strike up a conversation with her. I don’t remember what I said back then but we ended up talking for quite some time, while also going around various chatrooms, playing pranks and just having a good time. The only problem was that this girl had a boyfriend…the bane of my existance….ughhh….

Well, not many days afterwards, the girl and the boy had a major fight online in one of the chatrooms. Me being the suave guy that I am swooped in and took my chance, we talked for the rest of the night and well into the morning. Shortly after that we decided that we would try an online relationship with each other. it was love at first type…

Back in the day, nationwide long distance was rare and cell phones were expensive, so I did what any boy would do so that he could talk more with his girl, I bought hundreds of dollars worth of phone cards…We would literally talk from the moment I got home from work until 3 or 4 in the morning. Oftentimes I would have just enough time to get an hour or two of sleep before heading back to work, but it was worth it. This girl was the most interesting and wonderful person I had ever met.

September 11th 2001 is a day that no one will forget. I remember it both for the attack that occurred and for the fact that it was on that day that we decided I would move to be with her. We knew that things were going to be different in this new post-terror world and we wanted to be closer to each other. So the next day I went and bought a bus ticket and a couple of weeks later I was heading across country to be with the girl of my dreams.

When I arrived and got off the bus, I had to walk around the bus to get my bag. Little did I know that I caused her to panic because she thought I had seen her and decided to head back home. When I walked back around the bus I saw her standing there, the most gorgeous woman that I have ever laid my eyes upon. No picture would have ever been able to grasp the beauty that I saw standing before me. We embraced and shared our first kiss.

Moving across the country is no easy task, especially for someone with the issues that I have. Even though I was very happy to be with the woman of my dreams, I was also terrified at the prospect of finding a job, getting comfortable in my new surroundings and just being me in a new state with people that I had never met. That night, full of fear and anxiety, my girlfriend asked me if I wanted to go up on the roof with her. I’m horrified of heights but I don’t even think I protested at all, maybe it was the complete anxiety that I was already in, led me to simply accept and head up the ladder behind her.

Still full of an anxiety we sat down on the roof, looking up at the stars, and I held her in my arms. My brain was going a mile a minute and I honestly cannot describe the mix of emotions I was feeling while looking at the stars, but it all ceased in a moment. This woman in my arms began singing to me, “Strawberry Wine.” Her voice reached into my heart, pulled out every bit of fear and anxiety. and left only one thought. I love this girl and I want to hold her in my arms, every night, for the rest of my life.

Stay tuned for part two….

 

3 thoughts on “A Boy and A Girl (Part 1 of 3)

Leave a Reply

