A Boy and A Girl (The Epilogue)

For Part 3 (https://somethingtoponderweb.wordpress.com/2017/03/02/a-boy-and-a-girl-part-3-of-3/)

After I sent that first message we spent the next few days talking on-line. I told her how sorry I was for my part for what led to our divorce and she admitted that there were things that she could have done better as well. We discussed everything that we had been through over the last decade. Her mother had passed away and she had two kids during that time. I told her how my second marriage had been a mistake from day one. We discussed our beliefs and current feelings. Basically we were just skirting around an issue that was in the air from the moment I sent the first message.

Late one night, she asked me if I still had feelings for her. Not wanting it to seem like that was the only reason that I had messaged her, because in reality it wasn’t, I told her that I wasn’t looking for anything romantic and was just looking to maybe become friends with her. I went to bed that night with my mind racing. What had I done, of course I still had feelings for her, it was obvious. I woke up the next morning and messaged her, I told her I had lied and that my feelings for her had never really went away. I still loved her as much, if not more than the first day I had talked to her, meany years ago.

She then told me that she felt the exact same way. She said that she had wished she had stuck it out when we were together in the past and that she still loved me too. That was it, I was going to get her back, I would go through hell or high water to do so, but I would make it happen. Only one problem, I had a beat up van to drive, and little money…I was also still living with my friend.

The next day I got to searching for a place to stay. I found an apartment very quickly and so step one was done. I then took my van in and had brand new tires, brakes, an oil change, the transmission flushed, alignment done, and a handful of other things taken care of. Step two was done. Only thing left was my crippling fear of long car drives. I am dreadfully afraid of breaking down in the middle of nowhere and having no ability to get myself back home. Fears be damned I wasn’t going to let any of that stop me. So a few weeks later, I got in my van and started my trip…I wasn’t going to stop, except for gas, so I bought some snacks and drinks, then headed on my way. I bought two cans of mixed nuts which would eventually be a very bad idea.

I made it to her place in very good time, only about 13 hours for the first half of the trip. I picked her up and we started our way back. She lived in the south and so I didn’t expect any issues on the return trip. The first hour went well and then we hit a freak ice storm and the drive became a slow and very scary trip. I was stressed out and added to the two cans of mixed nuts I had eaten, my stomach was not doing well. We made it about a quarter of the way back and had to stop due to the horrible storm we were driving through.

My stomach issue worsened and we ended up stranded in that town for three days. Let me tell you, it is wonderful to know that the first memories my love had of our reuniting was me spending two and a half days on the toilet moaning horribly. Anyway after a couple of days my stomach was a bit better and the weather had cleared, so we made our way back out onto the road and got home late in the evening.

At that time I had nothing but an air mattress for us to sleep on. Her daughter took the twin bed that I had been using. Having her back in my life was the greatest experience ever and so I slept better that night than I had in a decade. Sometimes it seems like that decade never even existed, even though I know it definitely did.

That was a little over 2 years ago. We are still head over heels in love with each other and each day I find something new to love about her. All the issues that we had in our early twenties are gone. We’ve both matured and out love has matured. Our days are spent enjoying each others company. When I am at work I send her small messages letting her know I love her and miss her. When we are together, we enjoy the warmth of each others company, and the sex is ten times better than the fantastic sex we had in our 20’s. I honestly could not be happier with how everything turned out.

I thank you all for reading, and I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I have writing it.

Leave a Reply

